Tax Credit Casualties Forum
Tax Credit Casualties Forum
Home | Profile | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Archive
 New Members Cases
 HELP, they wont pay for my son!!
 Forum Locked
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

emec
Rank; Hector Tax Inspector

United Kingdom
10 Posts

Posted - 16/03/2010 :  22:25:51  Show Profile Send emec a Private Message
Hi, i am new to this so hope that i have posted on the correct forum.Background information...
I have 3 children ages 13, 2 and 1. The 2 youngest were born abroad but have a full UK birth certificate and are dual nationality. We live in the UK full time and i claim income support. From my youngest sons birth to last October i was also claiming child tax credit for all 3 children and child benefit. In September 2009 i was asked to send my youngest sons uk birth certificate to the tax credit office in Preston, which i did by recorded delivery.
In early October he was taken off my claim for tax credit as they said that they had not recieved his birth certificate and that they had checked with child benefit and had been told that they had no record of payments for my son.
I immediatly logged an appeal as i called the child benefit who had a record of him and his birth certificate on their computer system.
2 days later the birth certificate was returned by HMRC by special delivery (they had it all along!!). I was told he could not be returned to my claým and the appeal had to take its course. The problem i was later told was the tax credit had a different birthday to the chil benefit office (their own error).